CMSA Detroit Understanding Accreditations & Certifications

Within the field of case management, there are two very important, yet distinct and separate, organizations: the Case Management Society of America (CMSA) and the Commission for Case Manager Certification (CCMC). Because of their overlapping areas of interest, yet complementary missions, we believe it is desirable and informative to provide an explanation of the roles and relationships of each organization. To learn about these differences, please download the PDF document: Differences between CMSA and CCMC


In the US, accreditation is voluntarily sought by businesses, organizations and institutions as a means of establishing credibility in their market. It is about identifying what it means to provide quality services and setting required standards of operation to provide those services within a specific industry. The accrediting agency then issues official authorization or approval to those persons or entities that are in compliance with those standards. Accreditation is the highest level of credentialing available.Click on the following links to learn more about the variety of accreditation programs offered by each institution:


ACHC   Accreditation Commission for Health Care
CARF   Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
JCAHO   Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
NCQA   National Committee for Quality Assurance
URAC   Utilization Review Accreditation Commission



Certification is the act of confirming that someone has met a certain set of predetermined criteria by the certifying body. Certification is recognized as an acceptable standard of practice by general consent of the population it certifies.To learn more about the various certifications available to case managers, click on the links below:

AAOHN   American Association of Occupational Health Nurses
ABDA   American Board of Disability Analyst
ACM   Accredited Case Manager
AOCN   Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification
CASWCM   Certified Advanced Social Work Case Manager
CCM   Certified Case Manager
CCRN ®   Certification in Critical Care Nursing
CDMS   Certified Disability Management Specialist
CMAC   Case Management Administrator Certification
CMC   Care Manager Certified
CMCN   Certified Managed Care Nurse
CO   Certified Orthotist
COHN   Certified Occupational Health Nurse
CP   Certified Prosthetist
CPO   Certified Prosthetist-Orthotist
CPDM   Certified Professional in Disability Management
CPHQ   Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality
CPON   Certified Pediatric Oncology Nurse
CRC   Certified Rehabilitation Counselor
CRRN   Certified Rehabilitation Registered Nurse
CSWCM   Certified Social Work Case Manager
HCQM   Health Care Quality and Management
RN,C/RN, BC   Registered Nurse, Certified